Out the Google sandbox after exactly 6 months

October 13, 2008

I have a site consistently getting around 700 uniques a day – has been for a long time, it’s a long story about the creation of the site but suffice it to say, most of the traffic comes from Google search.
This morning I checked my stats and noticed traffic had gone up about 60% overnight; I assumed that some other site had linked to me and was sending traffic but it’s almost all still coming from Google.
Just out of curiosity I checked the age of the domain and it was 182 days old yesterday – 6 months exactly.
There also seem to be a lot more pages in the index now, I wasn’t monitoring it so I’ve got no proof of that, so it may just be that after 6 months Google indexes more pages rather than sending more visitors to individual pages.

Very interesting (to me anyway) – so if you have a new site and it’s not getting much google love, just wait a bit – I’m not saying that’s going to be the same for everyone, that’s just what happened for that one site.

Leave a Reply

